Weekly Photo Challenge: Journey

“Men go abroad to wonder at the heights of mountains, at the huge waves of the sea, at the long courses of the rivers,

at the vast compass of the ocean, at the circular motions of the stars,

and they pass by themselves without wondering.” – St. Augustine

The weekly photo challenge this week is “Journey”.  Oh the irony.  As a grief counselor and art therapist this is a word that is near and dear to my heart.  I think it is a beautiful metaphor and commentary on so many things in life.  Ironically for the last four months I have been on a journey of sorts, one that I was not looking forward to.  This journey has taken me away from my free time, my family and friends and the things that I love doing that make me feel whole and sane; like photography, art and just being with people.  But the end is in sight and come early May the journey will be completed and I will be….a whole new person… ready to make up for lost time!  So when I heard about the photo challenge  it seemed like it would be healing and cathartic for me to make the time do it.  Of course I couldn’t just pick one image, so all of these images represent my idea of  “Journey”.

“For a long time it had seemed to me that life was about to begin-real life. But there was always some obstacle in the way, something to be gotten through first, some unfinished business, time still to be served, a debt to be paid. Then life would begin. At last it dawned on me that these obstacles were my life.” – Alfred D’Souza

And….just because you really can’t comment on the idea of “journey” without mentioning one of my favorite 80’s bands….Journey.

Happy travels….

© 2012 lizabethlacey photography